Checked
Portage County, WI Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Portage County, Wisconsin.
- Wisconsin home electricity
- 19.06¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- EV charging stations
- 14
- 45 ports
- Electric utilities
- 6
- Serving Portage County
Electric utilities serving Portage County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Wisconsin service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wisconsin Power & Light CoInvestor Owned | 505,706 | 18.47¢/kWh | $128/mo |
| Wisconsin Public Service CorpInvestor Owned | 472,199 | 17.20¢/kWh | $106/mo |
| Adams-Columbia Electric CoopCooperative | 39,826 | 18.98¢/kWh | $122/mo |
| Wisconsin Rapids W W & L CommMunicipal | 14,633 | 13.61¢/kWh | $89/mo |
| Central Wisconsin Elec CoopCooperative | 8,358 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Consolidated Water Power CoInvestor Owned | 91 | Not reported | $88/mo |
EV charging in Portage County
14 public stations, DC fast first
- Stevens Point, WI - Tesla Supercharger
1600 Academy Ave, Stevens Point, WI 54481
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Kwik Trip #202
5339 Harding Ave, Plover, WI 54467
4 DC fast · Kwik Charge · CCS (J1772 Combo), Tesla (NACS)
- Midwest Renewable Energy - DC Fast
7558 Deer Rd, Custer, WI 54423
2 DC fast · Nayax Energy · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Spac Charger Chargepoint 1
3707 Stanley St, Stevens Point, WI 54481
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Spac Charger Chargepoint 2
3707 Stanley St, Stevens Point, WI 54481
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Home2 Suites by Hilton Stevens Point - Tesla Destination
3317 John Joanis Dr, Stevens Point, WI 54482
8 Level 2 · Tesla Destination · J1772 (Level 2), Tesla (NACS)
- Midwest Renewable Energy Association
7558 Deer Rd, Custer, WI 54423
6 Level 2 · Non-networked · J1772 (Level 2)
- Central Wisconsin Electric Co-op
10401 Lystul Rd, Rosholt, WI 54473
1 Level 2 · Non-networked · J1772 (Level 2)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Compressed natural gas (CNG) | 1 |
| Ethanol (E85) | 5 |
Power plants in Portage County
24.7 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Stevens Point Mill | Natural gas | 7.6 MW |
| Du Bay | Hydroelectric | 7.2 MW |
| Whiting | Hydroelectric | 5.1 MW |
| Stevens Point | Hydroelectric | 4.8 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Portage County?
- Wisconsin Power & Light Co, Wisconsin Public Service Corp, Adams-Columbia Electric Coop and 3 more report serving Portage County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Portage County?
- There are 14 public EV charging stations in Portage County with 45 ports, 6 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Portage County?
- Yes. Portage County has 4 operating power plants with 24.7 MW of capacity. The largest is Stevens Point Mill (7.6 MW, natural gas).