Connecticut Energy
Gas prices, electricity rates, utilities, power plants, heating costs and EV charging in Connecticut, from EIA, EPA and the Department of Energy.
- Regular gas, region
- $4.25/gal
- Week of 10/19/2026
- Home electricity
- 24.16¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Average electric bill
- $206/mo
- 2025
- EV charging stations
- 1,675
- 4,996 ports
Prices
- Gas prices$4.25/gal (New England, PADD 1A)
- Electricity rates24.16¢/kWh
- Heating oil$6.15/gal week of 10/19/2026
- Propane$4.23/gal week of 10/19/2026
Power plants
11.0 GW of operating capacity
- Natural gas5.4 GW 49.0%
- Petroleum2.5 GW 23.0%
- Nuclear2.3 GW 20.5%
- Solar501 MW 4.6%
- Biomass161 MW 1.5%
- Hydroelectric118 MW 1.1%
- Pumped storage hydro31.0 MW 0.3%
- Wind5.0 MW 0.0%
- Battery storage1.6 MW 0.0%
Generated 40.7 TWh in 2023 with 37.3% from carbon-free sources. CO2 rate 538 lb/MWh. Solar, wind and batteries
Largest electric utilities
By customers, 2025
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers | Home price |
|---|---|---|
| Connecticut Light & Power CoInvestor Owned | 1,309,946 | 28.88¢/kWh |
| United Illuminating CoInvestor Owned | 348,263 | 35.40¢/kWh |
| Town of Wallingford - (CT)Municipal | 25,123 | 17.78¢/kWh |
| City of Norwich - (CT)Municipal | 20,996 | 23.35¢/kWh |
| Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter | 19,341 | 28.71¢/kWh |
| Groton Dept of Utilities - (CT)Municipal | 14,193 | 18.05¢/kWh |
| Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter | 9,239 | 17.44¢/kWh |
| City of South Norwalk - (CT)Municipal | 7,439 | Not reported |
| Norwalk Third Taxing DistrictMunicipal | 4,139 | Not reported |
| SunPower Capital, LLCBehind the Meter | 3,658 | 19.14¢/kWh |
EV charging by city
29 alternative fuel stations too
- New Haven182
- Hartford129
- Bristol66
- East Hartford61
- Storrs56
- Waterbury46
- Stamford46
- New Britain41
- Middletown40
- New London38
- Milford31
- Danbury31
- Meriden29
- Norwalk27
- Bridgeport22
- East Haven21
- West Hartford17
- Greenwich17
- North Haven14
- Willimantic12
- Norwich12
- Wallingford Center12
- Glastonbury Center11
- Branford Center11
- Manchester11
- West Haven10
- Oakville10
- Torrington10
- Windsor Locks9
- Litchfield9
Energy by county
Utilities, power plants and charging stations in each county
- Capitol Planning Region
- Greater Bridgeport Planning Region
- Lower Connecticut River Valley Planning Region
- Naugatuck Valley Planning Region
- Northeastern Connecticut Planning Region
- Northwest Hills Planning Region
- South Central Connecticut Planning Region
- Southeastern Connecticut Planning Region
- Western Connecticut Planning Region
Frequently asked questions
- How much does electricity cost in Connecticut?
- Homes in Connecticut paid an average of 24.16¢/kWh per kilowatt-hour in July 2026, compared with the U.S. average of 18.31¢/kWh.
- What is the price of gas in Connecticut?
- EIA does not publish a weekly Connecticut average. The New England (PADD 1A) average was $4.25/gal the week of 10/19/2026.
- Where does Connecticut's electricity come from?
- In 2023, 37.3% of the electricity generated in Connecticut came from carbon-free sources (nuclear and renewables), and 3.7% from renewables alone.