Checked
Delaware Electricity Rates
Average price of electricity in Delaware, July 2026, from the U.S. Energy Information Administration. Recent months are preliminary.
- Residential
- 18.48¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Commercial
- 13.80¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Industrial
- 11.71¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Average home bill
- $158/mo
- 2025, 920 kWh a month
Delaware electricity prices, 5 years
Average cents per kilowatt-hour by month
Show as a table
| Period | Residential |
|---|---|
| Jul 2026 | 18.48¢ |
| Dec 2025 | 17.12¢ |
| Dec 2024 | 16.79¢ |
| Dec 2023 | 16.30¢ |
| Dec 2022 | 14.61¢ |
| Dec 2021 | 12.57¢ |
Residential price by month
Cents per kWh, homes, and change from the same month a year earlier
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Month | Price | 1 year change | Customers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 2026 | 18.48¢/kWh | +11.5% | 482,534 |
| Jun 2026 | 19.29¢/kWh | +6.2% | 482,578 |
| May 2026 | 19.38¢/kWh | +6.9% | 481,756 |
| Apr 2026 | 18.79¢/kWh | +4.6% | 481,331 |
| Mar 2026 | 17.64¢/kWh | +5.6% | 481,312 |
| Feb 2026 | 16.27¢/kWh | +4.0% | 480,738 |
| Jan 2026 | 16.51¢/kWh | +6.3% | 478,298 |
| Dec 2025 | 17.12¢/kWh | +2.0% | 477,952 |
| Nov 2025 | 18.81¢/kWh | +3.2% | 479,181 |
| Oct 2025 | 18.31¢/kWh | +1.3% | 478,732 |
| Sep 2025 | 18.12¢/kWh | +7.9% | 478,352 |
| Aug 2025 | 16.82¢/kWh | +6.5% | 477,269 |
| Jul 2025 | 16.58¢/kWh | +6.2% | 476,852 |
| Jun 2025 | 18.16¢/kWh | +10.6% | 476,053 |
| May 2025 | 18.13¢/kWh | +4.3% | 475,319 |
| Apr 2025 | 17.97¢/kWh | +1.8% | 475,471 |
| Mar 2025 | 16.71¢/kWh | +0.1% | 474,676 |
| Feb 2025 | 15.65¢/kWh | -1.1% | 474,061 |
| Jan 2025 | 15.53¢/kWh | -0.6% | 473,465 |
| Dec 2024 | 16.79¢/kWh | +3.0% | 476,523 |
| Nov 2024 | 18.22¢/kWh | +5.8% | 475,615 |
| Oct 2024 | 18.07¢/kWh | +3.7% | 475,570 |
| Sep 2024 | 16.80¢/kWh | +6.3% | 475,042 |
| Aug 2024 | 15.79¢/kWh | +0.8% | 474,425 |
Electric utilities in Delaware
Largest by customers, 2025. Price and bill are for homes served with bundled generation and delivery
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Delmarva PowerInvestor Owned | 343,380 | 18.16¢/kWh | $162/mo |
| Delaware Electric CooperativeCooperative | 122,301 | 13.89¢/kWh | $146/mo |
| City of Dover - (DE)Municipal | 25,346 | 16.16¢/kWh | $131/mo |
| City of Newark - (DE)Municipal | 13,486 | 19.75¢/kWh | $135/mo |
| Town of Middletown - (DE)Municipal | 10,333 | 16.64¢/kWh | $152/mo |
| City of Milford - (DE)Municipal | 9,096 | 15.86¢/kWh | $147/mo |
| Town of Smyrna - (DE)Municipal | 6,546 | Not reported | Not reported |
| City of Seaford- (DE)Municipal | 4,474 | Not reported | Not reported |
| City of Lewes - (DE)Municipal | 4,087 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter | 3,297 | 16.71¢/kWh | $113/mo |
| New Castle Municipal Serv CommMunicipal | 2,952 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Town of Clayton - (DE)Municipal | 1,826 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter | 392 | 15.69¢/kWh | $82/mo |
| Constellation Solar Holding, LLCBehind the Meter | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Scale Sustainable I, LLCBehind the Meter | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
Price is revenue divided by kilowatt-hours sold. Where customers can choose a retail electricity supplier, the utility that delivers power may report only delivery charges, so its price can look lower than what customers pay in total.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the average electricity rate in Delaware?
- Homes in Delaware paid an average of 18.48¢/kWh per kilowatt-hour in July 2026, compared with 16.58¢/kWh a year earlier. The U.S. average was 18.31¢/kWh.
- Is electricity expensive in Delaware?
- Delaware had the 19th highest average residential price of 51 states and DC in July 2026.
- What is the average electric bill in Delaware?
- The average Delaware home used 920 kWh a month and paid $157.80 a month in 2025, according to EIA.
- What is the largest electric utility in Delaware?
- Delmarva Power serves the most customers in Delaware, about 343,380 in 2025.
Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Form EIA-861M and Form EIA-861 · Data for July 2026