Skip to content

Checked

Ohio Electricity Rates

Average price of electricity in Ohio, July 2026, from the U.S. Energy Information Administration. Recent months are preliminary.

Residential
19.45¢/kWh
July 2026
Commercial
14.06¢/kWh
July 2026
Industrial
10.95¢/kWh
July 2026
Average home bill
$148/mo
2025, 874 kWh a month

Ohio electricity prices, 5 years

Average cents per kilowatt-hour by month

ResidentialCommercialIndustrial
Show as a table
PeriodResidential
Jul 202619.45¢
Dec 202517.31¢
Dec 202415.88¢
Dec 202315.57¢
Dec 202213.97¢
Dec 202112.81¢

Residential price by month

Cents per kWh, homes, and change from the same month a year earlier

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

MonthPrice1 year changeCustomers
Jul 202619.45¢/kWh+11.9%5,129,666
Jun 202619.19¢/kWh+9.7%5,128,392
May 202619.52¢/kWh+14.2%5,122,275
Apr 202619.49¢/kWh+19.4%5,127,041
Mar 202618.78¢/kWh+16.6%5,128,095
Feb 202617.52¢/kWh+10.7%5,124,579
Jan 202617.59¢/kWh+12.6%5,120,943
Dec 202517.31¢/kWh+9.0%5,118,258
Nov 202517.66¢/kWh+7.2%5,110,934
Oct 202517.85¢/kWh+7.7%5,104,648
Sep 202517.61¢/kWh+11.8%5,118,153
Aug 202517.59¢/kWh+11.8%5,097,000
Jul 202517.38¢/kWh+10.1%5,080,028
Jun 202517.50¢/kWh+10.5%5,080,591
May 202517.09¢/kWh+3.2%5,080,247
Apr 202516.32¢/kWh-2.0%5,081,828
Mar 202516.10¢/kWh-0.6%5,079,580
Feb 202515.83¢/kWh+1.0%5,089,974
Jan 202515.62¢/kWh+1.0%5,084,663
Dec 202415.88¢/kWh+2.0%5,157,476
Nov 202416.47¢/kWh+5.2%5,152,331
Oct 202416.57¢/kWh+4.3%5,149,252
Sep 202415.75¢/kWh+1.0%5,147,129
Aug 202415.73¢/kWh+0.6%5,143,440

Electric utilities in Ohio

Largest by customers, 2025. Price and bill are for homes served with bundled generation and delivery

All 121

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomersHome priceHome bill
Ohio Power CoInvestor Owned1,543,03318.97¢/kWh$179/mo
Ohio Edison CoInvestor Owned1,077,59216.01¢/kWh$131/mo
Duke Energy Ohio IncInvestor Owned766,53816.83¢/kWh$154/mo
Cleveland Electric Illum CoInvestor Owned759,84716.22¢/kWh$103/mo
Dayton Power & Light CoInvestor Owned528,72216.12¢/kWh$158/mo
The Toledo Edison CoInvestor Owned316,97516.49¢/kWh$127/mo
South Central Power CompanyCooperative128,92915.39¢/kWh$173/mo
City of Cleveland - (OH)Municipal73,61516.36¢/kWh$84/mo
City of Hamilton - (OH)Municipal30,16215.49¢/kWh$123/mo
Licking Rural Electric IncCooperative27,80117.03¢/kWh$185/mo
City of Cuyahoga Falls - (OH)Municipal26,73612.73¢/kWh$80/mo
Consolidated CooperativeCooperative19,49017.02¢/kWh$225/mo
City of Columbus - (OH)Municipal18,97912.97¢/kWh$77/mo
Buckeye Rural Elec Coop, IncCooperative18,70320.48¢/kWh$224/mo
City of Westerville - (OH)Municipal18,06914.46¢/kWh$135/mo
Holmes-Wayne Electric Coop IncCooperative18,00217.23¢/kWh$179/mo
Pioneer Rural Elec Coop, Inc - (OH)Cooperative17,49916.37¢/kWh$221/mo
Guernsey-Muskingum El Coop IncCooperative17,22418.25¢/kWh$178/mo
Lorain-Medina R E C, IncCooperative16,89817.50¢/kWh$212/mo
City of Bowling Green - (OH)Municipal14,90015.28¢/kWh$100/mo
City of Wadsworth - (OH)Municipal13,90812.21¢/kWh$96/mo
Hancock-Wood Electric Coop IncCooperative13,65517.27¢/kWh$195/mo
Union Rural Electric Coop, IncCooperative12,87316.77¢/kWh$198/mo
City of Niles - (OH)Municipal12,83812.40¢/kWh$79/mo
City of Painesville - (OH)Municipal12,60513.21¢/kWh$90/mo
Butler Rural Electric Coop Inc - (OH)Cooperative12,01318.44¢/kWh$256/mo
Carroll Electric Coop, Inc - (OH)Cooperative11,911Not reportedNot reported
Midwest Electric, Inc - (OH)Cooperative11,24715.77¢/kWh$213/mo
City of Piqua - (OH)Municipal10,89913.21¢/kWh$102/mo
Washington Electric Coop - (OH)Cooperative10,539Not reportedNot reported
City of Lebanon - (OH)Municipal10,01712.11¢/kWh$104/mo
North Central Elec Coop, Inc - (OH)Cooperative9,75817.78¢/kWh$220/mo
Paulding-Putman Elec Coop, IncCooperative9,66717.83¢/kWh$205/mo
Firelands Electric Coop, IncCooperative9,302Not reportedNot reported
Frontier Power CompanyCooperative9,288Not reportedNot reported
City of Celina - (OH)Municipal8,64410.02¢/kWh$107/mo
Mid-Ohio Energy Coop, IncCooperative8,231Not reportedNot reported
Adams Rural Electric Coop, IncCooperative7,851Not reportedNot reported
City of Orrville - (OH)Municipal7,12910.97¢/kWh$111/mo
City of Hudson - (OH)Municipal7,026Not reportedNot reported

Price is revenue divided by kilowatt-hours sold. Where customers can choose a retail electricity supplier, the utility that delivers power may report only delivery charges, so its price can look lower than what customers pay in total.

Frequently asked questions

What is the average electricity rate in Ohio?
Homes in Ohio paid an average of 19.45¢/kWh per kilowatt-hour in July 2026, compared with 17.38¢/kWh a year earlier. The U.S. average was 18.31¢/kWh.
Is electricity expensive in Ohio?
Ohio had the 16th highest average residential price of 51 states and DC in July 2026.
What is the average electric bill in Ohio?
The average Ohio home used 874 kWh a month and paid $147.74 a month in 2025, according to EIA.
What is the largest electric utility in Ohio?
Ohio Power Co serves the most customers in Ohio, about 1,543,033 in 2025.

Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Form EIA-861M and Form EIA-861 · Data for July 2026