Skip to content

Checked

South Dakota Electricity Rates

Average price of electricity in South Dakota, July 2026, from the U.S. Energy Information Administration. Recent months are preliminary.

Residential
15.37¢/kWh
July 2026
Commercial
12.17¢/kWh
July 2026
Industrial
9.83¢/kWh
July 2026
Average home bill
$131/mo
2025, 984 kWh a month

South Dakota electricity prices, 5 years

Average cents per kilowatt-hour by month

ResidentialCommercialIndustrial
Show as a table
PeriodResidential
Jul 202615.37¢
Dec 202512.51¢
Dec 202412.27¢
Dec 202311.80¢
Dec 202211.22¢
Dec 202111.50¢

Residential price by month

Cents per kWh, homes, and change from the same month a year earlier

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

MonthPrice1 year changeCustomers
Jul 202615.37¢/kWh+5.9%449,777
Jun 202615.36¢/kWh+8.0%449,162
May 202615.73¢/kWh+9.8%448,859
Apr 202614.52¢/kWh+8.6%448,216
Mar 202614.29¢/kWh+12.1%447,813
Feb 202613.24¢/kWh+11.8%447,219
Jan 202613.60¢/kWh+12.6%446,685
Dec 202512.51¢/kWh+2.0%446,613
Nov 202513.81¢/kWh+4.1%445,468
Oct 202514.09¢/kWh+3.1%446,093
Sep 202514.76¢/kWh+6.6%445,029
Aug 202513.98¢/kWh+2.5%444,621
Jul 202514.52¢/kWh+7.3%443,957
Jun 202514.22¢/kWh+1.9%443,500
May 202514.33¢/kWh+6.7%442,951
Apr 202513.37¢/kWh+5.5%442,471
Mar 202512.75¢/kWh+5.1%441,990
Feb 202511.84¢/kWh-0.5%441,191
Jan 202512.08¢/kWh+6.6%440,623
Dec 202412.27¢/kWh+4.0%437,440
Nov 202413.27¢/kWh+8.7%436,974
Oct 202413.66¢/kWh+4.7%435,459
Sep 202413.84¢/kWh+4.5%434,705
Aug 202413.64¢/kWh+4.4%434,608

Electric utilities in South Dakota

Largest by customers, 2025. Price and bill are for homes served with bundled generation and delivery

All 73

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomersHome priceHome bill
Northern States Power Co - MinnesotaInvestor Owned107,98513.13¢/kWh$101/mo
Black Hills Power, Inc.Investor Owned82,90015.12¢/kWh$106/mo
NorthWestern Energy - (SD)Investor Owned65,39613.35¢/kWh$125/mo
Sioux Valley SW Elec CoopCooperative26,16413.94¢/kWh$176/mo
Southeastern Electric Coop Inc - (SD)Cooperative24,42812.98¢/kWh$151/mo
West River Electric Assn IncCooperative21,33215.16¢/kWh$136/mo
Watertown Municipal UtilitiesMunicipal14,4979.29¢/kWh$82/mo
City of Brookings - (SD)Municipal12,56810.69¢/kWh$94/mo
Otter Tail Power CoInvestor Owned12,02711.42¢/kWh$123/mo
Black Hills Electric Coop, IncCooperative11,47814.79¢/kWh$166/mo
Montana-Dakota Utilities CoInvestor Owned8,44412.99¢/kWh$111/mo
Butte Electric Coop, IncCooperative7,472Not reportedNot reported
Central Electric Coop, Inc - (SD)Cooperative7,39714.67¢/kWh$225/mo
City of Pierre - (SD)Municipal7,39310.94¢/kWh$99/mo
Moreau-Grand Electric Coop IncCooperative7,161Not reportedNot reported
Northern Electric Coop, IncCooperative6,93811.43¢/kWh$239/mo
West Central Electric Coop Inc - (SD)Cooperative6,815Not reportedNot reported
LaCreek Electric Assn, IncCooperative6,600Not reportedNot reported
Rosebud Electric Coop IncCooperative5,69711.88¢/kWh$137/mo
MidAmerican Energy CoInvestor Owned5,3338.90¢/kWh$99/mo
Grand Electric Coop, IncCooperative5,257Not reportedNot reported
City of Vermillion - (SD)Municipal5,087Not reportedNot reported
Cherry-Todd Electric Coop, IncCooperative4,892Not reportedNot reported
Bon Homme Yankton El Assn, IncCooperative4,190Not reportedNot reported
Clay-Union Electric CorpCooperative3,917Not reportedNot reported
H-D Electric Coop IncCooperative3,873Not reportedNot reported
Whetstone Valley Elec Coop IncCooperative3,698Not reportedNot reported
Dakota Energy Coop IncCooperative3,64516.28¢/kWh$276/mo
Codington-Clark Elec Coop, IncCooperative3,494Not reportedNot reported
Lake Region Electric Assn, Inc - (SD)Cooperative3,464Not reportedNot reported
City of Madison - (SD)Municipal3,36112.41¢/kWh$131/mo
Oahe Electric Coop IncCooperative3,28210.54¢/kWh$170/mo
City of Sioux Falls - (SD)Municipal2,959Not reportedNot reported
Charles Mix Electric Assn, IncCooperative2,661Not reportedNot reported
Cam Wal Electric Coop, IncCooperative2,603Not reportedNot reported
FEM Electric Assn, IncCooperative2,164Not reportedNot reported
Winner Municipal UtilityMunicipal1,861Not reportedNot reported
Union County Electric Coop IncCooperative1,685Not reportedNot reported
City of Fort Pierre - (SD)Municipal1,487Not reportedNot reported
City of FlandreauMunicipal1,430Not reportedNot reported

Price is revenue divided by kilowatt-hours sold. Where customers can choose a retail electricity supplier, the utility that delivers power may report only delivery charges, so its price can look lower than what customers pay in total.

Frequently asked questions

What is the average electricity rate in South Dakota?
Homes in South Dakota paid an average of 15.37¢/kWh per kilowatt-hour in July 2026, compared with 14.52¢/kWh a year earlier. The U.S. average was 18.31¢/kWh.
Is electricity expensive in South Dakota?
South Dakota had the 34th highest average residential price of 51 states and DC in July 2026.
What is the average electric bill in South Dakota?
The average South Dakota home used 984 kWh a month and paid $131.10 a month in 2025, according to EIA.
What is the largest electric utility in South Dakota?
Northern States Power Co - Minnesota serves the most customers in South Dakota, about 107,985 in 2025.

Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Form EIA-861M and Form EIA-861 · Data for July 2026