Skip to content

Checked

Electric Utilities in South Dakota

73 utilities reported sales in South Dakota for 2025 (EIA Form 861).

Utilities

Customers in this state. Home price and bill are for bundled service (generation and delivery)

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

#UtilityCustomersHome priceHome bill
1Northern States Power Co - MinnesotaInvestor Owned107,98513.13¢/kWh$101/mo
2Black Hills Power, Inc.Investor Owned82,90015.12¢/kWh$106/mo
3NorthWestern Energy - (SD)Investor Owned65,39613.35¢/kWh$125/mo
4Sioux Valley SW Elec CoopCooperative26,16413.94¢/kWh$176/mo
5Southeastern Electric Coop Inc - (SD)Cooperative24,42812.98¢/kWh$151/mo
6West River Electric Assn IncCooperative21,33215.16¢/kWh$136/mo
7Watertown Municipal UtilitiesMunicipal14,4979.29¢/kWh$82/mo
8City of Brookings - (SD)Municipal12,56810.69¢/kWh$94/mo
9Otter Tail Power CoInvestor Owned12,02711.42¢/kWh$123/mo
10Black Hills Electric Coop, IncCooperative11,47814.79¢/kWh$166/mo
11Montana-Dakota Utilities CoInvestor Owned8,44412.99¢/kWh$111/mo
12Butte Electric Coop, IncCooperative7,472Not reportedNot reported
13Central Electric Coop, Inc - (SD)Cooperative7,39714.67¢/kWh$225/mo
14City of Pierre - (SD)Municipal7,39310.94¢/kWh$99/mo
15Moreau-Grand Electric Coop IncCooperative7,161Not reportedNot reported
16Northern Electric Coop, IncCooperative6,93811.43¢/kWh$239/mo
17West Central Electric Coop Inc - (SD)Cooperative6,815Not reportedNot reported
18LaCreek Electric Assn, IncCooperative6,600Not reportedNot reported
19Rosebud Electric Coop IncCooperative5,69711.88¢/kWh$137/mo
20MidAmerican Energy CoInvestor Owned5,3338.90¢/kWh$99/mo
21Grand Electric Coop, IncCooperative5,257Not reportedNot reported
22City of Vermillion - (SD)Municipal5,087Not reportedNot reported
23Cherry-Todd Electric Coop, IncCooperative4,892Not reportedNot reported
24Bon Homme Yankton El Assn, IncCooperative4,190Not reportedNot reported
25Clay-Union Electric CorpCooperative3,917Not reportedNot reported
26H-D Electric Coop IncCooperative3,873Not reportedNot reported
27Whetstone Valley Elec Coop IncCooperative3,698Not reportedNot reported
28Dakota Energy Coop IncCooperative3,64516.28¢/kWh$276/mo
29Codington-Clark Elec Coop, IncCooperative3,494Not reportedNot reported
30Lake Region Electric Assn, Inc - (SD)Cooperative3,464Not reportedNot reported
31City of Madison - (SD)Municipal3,36112.41¢/kWh$131/mo
32Oahe Electric Coop IncCooperative3,28210.54¢/kWh$170/mo
33City of Sioux Falls - (SD)Municipal2,959Not reportedNot reported
34Charles Mix Electric Assn, IncCooperative2,661Not reportedNot reported
35Cam Wal Electric Coop, IncCooperative2,603Not reportedNot reported
36FEM Electric Assn, IncCooperative2,164Not reportedNot reported
37Winner Municipal UtilityMunicipal1,861Not reportedNot reported
38Union County Electric Coop IncCooperative1,685Not reportedNot reported
39City of Fort Pierre - (SD)Municipal1,487Not reportedNot reported
40City of FlandreauMunicipal1,430Not reportedNot reported
41City of Volga - (SD)Municipal1,29012.79¢/kWh$119/mo
42Nebraska Public Power DistrictPolitical Subdivision1,27710.08¢/kWh$124/mo
43City of BeresfordMunicipal1,261Not reportedNot reported
44Traverse Electric Coop, IncCooperative1,060Not reportedNot reported
45City of Elk PointMunicipal1,044Not reportedNot reported
46City of Miller - (SD)Municipal982Not reportedNot reported
47Kingsbury Electric Coop, IncCooperative910Not reportedNot reported
48Douglas Electric Coop, IncCooperative823Not reportedNot reported
49City of Groton - (SD)Municipal737Not reportedNot reported
50City of Parker - (SD)Municipal690Not reportedNot reported
51City of Tyndall - (SD)Municipal647Not reportedNot reported
52City of Arlington - (SD)Municipal631Not reportedNot reported
53City of Howard - (SD)Municipal628Not reportedNot reported
54City of Wessington SpringsMunicipal614Not reportedNot reported
55City of Aurora - (SD)Municipal566Not reportedNot reported
56City of Onida - (SD)Municipal494Not reportedNot reported
57City of Plankinton - (SD)Municipal473Not reportedNot reported
58City of Burke - (SD)Municipal464Not reportedNot reported
59City of Estelline - (SD)Municipal430Not reportedNot reported
60City of Colman - (SD)Municipal402Not reportedNot reported
61City of Big Stone City - (SD)Municipal401Not reportedNot reported
62City of McLaughlin - (SD)Municipal334Not reportedNot reported
63City of White - (SD)Municipal309Not reportedNot reported
64City of Bryant - (SD)Municipal289Not reportedNot reported
65City of HeclaMunicipal283Not reportedNot reported
66City of Faith - (SD)Municipal276Not reportedNot reported
67Town of Langford- (SD)Municipal191Not reportedNot reported
68Town of Pickstown - (SD)Municipal182Not reportedNot reported
69City of Badger - (SD)Municipal83Not reportedNot reported
70WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal25Not reportedNot reported
71Southeast Electric Coop, IncCooperative24Not reportedNot reported
72Niobrara Electric Assn, IncCooperative16Not reportedNot reported
73Heartland Consumers Power DistPolitical Subdivision3Not reportedNot reported

Small utilities that file the short form (EIA-861S) report only total sales, so their home price and bill are not reported.

Frequently asked questions

What is the biggest electric company in South Dakota?
Northern States Power Co - Minnesota had the most customers in South Dakota in 2025, about 107,985.
How do I find which utility serves my address in South Dakota?
Open your county page from the South Dakota energy overview. It lists the utilities that report serving each county. Your power bill also names your utility.

Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Form EIA-861 (2025) · Data for 2025