Skip to content

Checked

Vermont Electricity Rates

Average price of electricity in Vermont, July 2026, from the U.S. Energy Information Administration. Recent months are preliminary.

Residential
23.75¢/kWh
July 2026
Commercial
20.71¢/kWh
July 2026
Industrial
13.07¢/kWh
July 2026
Average home bill
$135/mo
2025, 591 kWh a month

Vermont electricity prices, 5 years

Average cents per kilowatt-hour by month

ResidentialCommercialIndustrial
Show as a table
PeriodResidential
Jul 202623.75¢
Dec 202523.22¢
Dec 202422.05¢
Dec 202321.09¢
Dec 202219.94¢
Dec 202119.58¢

Residential price by month

Cents per kWh, homes, and change from the same month a year earlier

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

MonthPrice1 year changeCustomers
Jul 202623.75¢/kWh+7.3%314,497
Jun 202624.44¢/kWh+6.3%315,178
May 202624.89¢/kWh+4.8%313,825
Apr 202624.56¢/kWh+6.9%313,116
Mar 202624.11¢/kWh+7.7%312,425
Feb 202623.27¢/kWh+5.8%312,122
Jan 202623.29¢/kWh+7.1%312,239
Dec 202523.22¢/kWh+5.3%314,791
Nov 202524.17¢/kWh-3.9%312,427
Oct 202524.78¢/kWh+7.6%312,954
Sep 202523.92¢/kWh+6.5%312,790
Aug 202522.27¢/kWh+4.8%312,934
Jul 202522.14¢/kWh+4.9%312,465
Jun 202523.00¢/kWh+5.7%312,791
May 202523.75¢/kWh+7.2%311,999
Apr 202522.97¢/kWh+5.9%311,257
Mar 202522.38¢/kWh+3.8%310,762
Feb 202521.99¢/kWh+4.4%310,212
Jan 202521.74¢/kWh+4.5%310,614
Dec 202422.05¢/kWh+4.6%324,239
Nov 202425.16¢/kWh+16.6%324,299
Oct 202423.04¢/kWh+4.2%324,800
Sep 202422.46¢/kWh+5.9%324,726
Aug 202421.26¢/kWh+3.9%324,744

Electric utilities in Vermont

Largest by customers, 2025. Price and bill are for homes served with bundled generation and delivery

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomersHome priceHome bill
Green Mountain Power CorpInvestor Owned276,98623.29¢/kWh$140/mo
Vermont Electric Cooperative, IncCooperative41,44424.33¢/kWh$138/mo
City of Burlington Electric - (VT)Municipal22,01819.80¢/kWh$85/mo
Washington Electric Coop - (VT)Cooperative12,250Not reportedNot reported
The Town of Lyndon Elec Dept - (VT)Municipal6,297Not reportedNot reported
Town of HardwickMunicipal4,888Not reportedNot reported
Village of Morrisville - (VT)Municipal4,798Not reportedNot reported
Town of Stowe - (VT)Municipal4,659Not reportedNot reported
Village of Swanton - (VT)Municipal3,871Not reportedNot reported
Village of Ludlow - (VT)Municipal3,723Not reportedNot reported
Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter2,56129.48¢/kWh$153/mo
Barton Village, IncMunicipal2,188Not reportedNot reported
Village of Northfield - (VT)Municipal1,912Not reportedNot reported
Village of Enosburg Falls - (VT)Municipal1,850Not reportedNot reported
Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter1,57820.62¢/kWh$90/mo
Village of Hyde Park - (VT)Municipal1,420Not reportedNot reported
Village of Johnson - (VT)Municipal999Not reportedNot reported
Village of Jacksonville - (VT)Municipal735Not reportedNot reported
Village of Orleans - (VT)Municipal685Not reportedNot reported
Ahana Renewables, LLCBehind the Meter54027.76¢/kWh$148/mo
SunPower Capital, LLCBehind the Meter323Not reported$87/mo
Greenbacker Renewable Energy CorporationBehind the Meter25Not reportedNot reported
TerraForm US Energy Services, LLCBehind the Meter2Not reportedNot reported

Price is revenue divided by kilowatt-hours sold. Where customers can choose a retail electricity supplier, the utility that delivers power may report only delivery charges, so its price can look lower than what customers pay in total.

Frequently asked questions

What is the average electricity rate in Vermont?
Homes in Vermont paid an average of 23.75¢/kWh per kilowatt-hour in July 2026, compared with 22.14¢/kWh a year earlier. The U.S. average was 18.31¢/kWh.
Is electricity expensive in Vermont?
Vermont had the 12th highest average residential price of 51 states and DC in July 2026.
What is the average electric bill in Vermont?
The average Vermont home used 591 kWh a month and paid $134.78 a month in 2025, according to EIA.
What is the largest electric utility in Vermont?
Green Mountain Power Corp serves the most customers in Vermont, about 276,986 in 2025.

Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Form EIA-861M and Form EIA-861 · Data for July 2026