Checked
Custer County, MT Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Custer County, Montana.
- Montana home electricity
- 14.99¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.47/gal
- Rocky Mountain (PADD 4)
- EV charging stations
- 2
- 14 ports
- Electric utilities
- 6
- Serving Custer County
Electric utilities serving Custer County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Montana service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Montana-Dakota Utilities CoInvestor Owned | 25,498 | 12.33¢/kWh | $95/mo |
| McCone Electric Coop IncCooperative | 5,481 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tongue River Electric Coop IncCooperative | 5,229 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Southeast Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 2,196 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mid-Yellowstone Elec Coop, IncCooperative | 2,053 | Not reported | Not reported |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal | 16 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Custer County
2 public stations, DC fast first
- Miles City, MT - Tesla Supercharger
1815 South Haynes Avenue, Miles City, MT 59301
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Town Pump Miles City (Miles City, MT)
1210 S Haynes Ave, Miles City, MT 59301
6 DC fast · Electrify America · CCS (J1772 Combo)
Power plants in Custer County
231 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Clearwater Wind East | Wind | 208 MW |
| Miles City GT | Natural gas | 23.3 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Custer County?
- Montana-Dakota Utilities Co, McCone Electric Coop Inc, Tongue River Electric Coop Inc and 3 more report serving Custer County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Custer County?
- There are 2 public EV charging stations in Custer County with 14 ports, 2 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Custer County?
- Yes. Custer County has 2 operating power plants with 231 MW of capacity. The largest is Clearwater Wind East (208 MW, wind).