Montana Energy
Gas prices, electricity rates, utilities, power plants, heating costs and EV charging in Montana, from EIA, EPA and the Department of Energy.
- Regular gas, region
- $4.47/gal
- Week of 10/19/2026
- Home electricity
- 14.99¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Average electric bill
- $111/mo
- 2025
- EV charging stations
- 161
- 486 ports
Prices
- Gas prices$4.47/gal (Rocky Mountain, PADD 4)
- Electricity rates14.99¢/kWh
- Propane$2.17/gal week of 10/19/2026
- Natural gas$12.40/Mcf July 2026
Power plants
7.7 GW of operating capacity
- Hydroelectric2.7 GW 35.0%
- Wind2.1 GW 28.0%
- Coal1.8 GW 23.6%
- Natural gas705 MW 9.2%
- Solar181 MW 2.4%
- Petroleum68.0 MW 0.9%
- Other61.6 MW 0.8%
- Biomass6.0 MW 0.1%
Generated 26.9 TWh in 2023 with 50.6% from carbon-free sources. CO2 rate 1,056 lb/MWh. Solar, wind and batteries
Largest electric utilities
By customers, 2025
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers | Home price |
|---|---|---|
| NorthWestern Energy LLC - (MT)Investor Owned | 438,851 | 14.42¢/kWh |
| Flathead Electric Coop IncCooperative | 77,288 | 10.04¢/kWh |
| Montana-Dakota Utilities CoInvestor Owned | 25,498 | 12.33¢/kWh |
| Yellowstone Valley Elec Co-opCooperative | 23,683 | 14.22¢/kWh |
| USBIA-Mission Valley PowerFederal | 23,250 | 9.39¢/kWh |
| Missoula Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 16,711 | 10.93¢/kWh |
| Ravalli County Elec Coop, IncCooperative | 12,194 | Not reported |
| Vigilante Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 11,420 | Not reported |
| Glacier Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 7,964 | Not reported |
| Fergus Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 7,157 | 15.91¢/kWh |
EV charging by city
30 alternative fuel stations too
- Bozeman21
- Missoula20
- Billings12
- Helena10
- Great Falls10
- Whitefish8
- Gardiner5
- Big Sky5
- Kalispell5
- West Yellowstone3
- Butte3
- West Glendive2
- Deer Lodge2
- St. Regis2
- Miles City2
- King Arthur Park2
- Red Lodge1
- Evaro1
- North Browning1
- Choteau1
- Fort Benton1
- Wye1
- West Glacier1
- Virginia City1
- Anaconda-Deer Lodge County1
- Four Corners1
- Laurel1
- Ovando1
- Haugan1
- Hardin1
Energy by county
Utilities, power plants and charging stations in each county
- Beaverhead County
- Big Horn County
- Blaine County
- Broadwater County
- Carbon County
- Carter County
- Cascade County
- Chouteau County
- Custer County
- Daniels County
- Dawson County
- Deer Lodge County
- Fallon County
- Fergus County
- Flathead County
- Gallatin County
- Garfield County
- Glacier County
- Golden Valley County
- Granite County
- Hill County
- Jefferson County
- Judith Basin County
- Lake County
- Lewis and Clark County
- Liberty County
- Lincoln County
- Madison County
- McCone County
- Meagher County
- Mineral County
- Missoula County
- Musselshell County
- Park County
- Petroleum County
- Phillips County
- Pondera County
- Powder River County
- Powell County
- Prairie County
- Ravalli County
- Richland County
- Roosevelt County
- Rosebud County
- Sanders County
- Sheridan County
- Silver Bow County
- Stillwater County
- Sweet Grass County
- Teton County
- Toole County
- Treasure County
- Valley County
- Wheatland County
- Wibaux County
- Yellowstone County
Frequently asked questions
- How much does electricity cost in Montana?
- Homes in Montana paid an average of 14.99¢/kWh per kilowatt-hour in July 2026, compared with the U.S. average of 18.31¢/kWh.
- What is the price of gas in Montana?
- EIA does not publish a weekly Montana average. The Rocky Mountain (PADD 4) average was $4.47/gal the week of 10/19/2026.
- Where does Montana's electricity come from?
- In 2023, 50.6% of the electricity generated in Montana came from carbon-free sources (nuclear and renewables), and 50.6% from renewables alone.