Checked
Dawson County, MT Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Dawson County, Montana.
- Montana home electricity
- 14.99¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.47/gal
- Rocky Mountain (PADD 4)
- EV charging stations
- 3
- 16 ports
- Electric utilities
- 6
- Serving Dawson County
Electric utilities serving Dawson County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Montana service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Montana-Dakota Utilities CoInvestor Owned | 25,498 | 12.33¢/kWh | $95/mo |
| McCone Electric Coop IncCooperative | 5,481 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Lower Yellowstone R E A, IncCooperative | 5,253 | 9.20¢/kWh | $107/mo |
| Tongue River Electric Coop IncCooperative | 5,229 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Goldenwest Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 853 | Not reported | Not reported |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal | 16 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Dawson County
3 public stations, DC fast first
- Glendive, MT - Tesla Supercharger
1919 North Merrill Avenue, Glendive, MT 59330
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Town Pump of Glendive (Glendive, MT)
73 MT-16, Glendive, MT 59330
6 DC fast · Electrify America · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- HKT Big Sky Cp6k Lube Bay
2515 West Towne Street, Glendive, MT 59330
2 Level 2 · ChargePoint · J1772 (Level 2)
Power plants in Dawson County
83.7 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Glendive GT | Natural gas | 83.7 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Dawson County?
- Montana-Dakota Utilities Co, McCone Electric Coop Inc, Lower Yellowstone R E A, Inc and 3 more report serving Dawson County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Dawson County?
- There are 3 public EV charging stations in Dawson County with 16 ports, 2 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Dawson County?
- Yes. Dawson County has 1 operating power plant with 83.7 MW of capacity. The largest is Glendive GT (83.7 MW, natural gas).