Skip to content

Checked

Aberdeen, SD Energy

Charging stations in Aberdeen, plus the utilities and power plants of Brown County.

South Dakota home electricity
15.37¢/kWh
July 2026
Regular gas, region
$4.15/gal
Midwest (PADD 2)
EV charging stations
3
6 ports
Electric utilities
7
Serving Brown County

Electric utilities serving Brown County

As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole South Dakota service area

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomers in stateHome priceHome bill
NorthWestern Energy - (SD)Investor Owned65,39613.35¢/kWh$125/mo
Montana-Dakota Utilities CoInvestor Owned8,44412.99¢/kWh$111/mo
Northern Electric Coop, IncCooperative6,93811.43¢/kWh$239/mo
Lake Region Electric Assn, Inc - (SD)Cooperative3,464Not reportedNot reported
City of Groton - (SD)Municipal737Not reportedNot reported
City of HeclaMunicipal283Not reportedNot reported
WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal25Not reportedNot reported

EV charging in Aberdeen

3 public stations, DC fast first

All 3

Alternative fuel stations

Power plants in Brown County

327 MW of operating capacity

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

PlantFuelCapacity
Groton Generation StationNatural gas216 MW
Aberdeen CTNatural gas111 MW

Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.

Frequently asked questions

What electric company serves Aberdeen?
NorthWestern Energy - (SD), Montana-Dakota Utilities Co, Northern Electric Coop, Inc and 4 more report serving Brown County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
How many EV charging stations are in Aberdeen?
There are 3 public EV charging stations in Aberdeen with 6 ports, 1 of them with DC fast charging.