District of Columbia Energy
Gas prices, electricity rates, utilities, power plants, heating costs and EV charging in District of Columbia, from EIA, EPA and the Department of Energy.
- Regular gas, region
- $4.31/gal
- Week of 10/19/2026
- Home electricity
- 25.21¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Average electric bill
- $140/mo
- 2025
- EV charging stations
- 319
- 1,103 ports
Prices
- Gas prices$4.31/gal (Central Atlantic, PADD 1B)
- Electricity rates25.21¢/kWh
- Natural gas$31.62/Mcf July 2026
Power plants
72.2 MW of operating capacity
- Solar35.2 MW 48.8%
- Natural gas22.9 MW 31.7%
- Biomass14.1 MW 19.5%
Generated 172 GWh in 2023 with 48.1% from carbon-free sources. CO2 rate 394 lb/MWh. Solar, wind and batteries
Largest electric utilities
By customers, 2025
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers | Home price |
|---|---|---|
| Potomac Electric Power CoInvestor Owned | 352,372 | 20.77¢/kWh |
| Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter | 501 | 13.87¢/kWh |
| Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter | 57 | Not reported |
| Ahana Renewables, LLCBehind the Meter | 2 | Not reported |
| Constellation Solar Holding, LLCBehind the Meter | 2 | Not reported |
| SunnovaBehind the Meter | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging by city
Energy by county
Utilities, power plants and charging stations in each county
Frequently asked questions
- How much does electricity cost in District of Columbia?
- Homes in District of Columbia paid an average of 25.21¢/kWh per kilowatt-hour in July 2026, compared with the U.S. average of 18.31¢/kWh.
- What is the price of gas in District of Columbia?
- EIA does not publish a weekly District of Columbia average. The Central Atlantic (PADD 1B) average was $4.31/gal the week of 10/19/2026.
- Where does District of Columbia's electricity come from?
- In 2023, 48.1% of the electricity generated in District of Columbia came from carbon-free sources (nuclear and renewables), and 48.1% from renewables alone.