Checked
Electric Utilities in District of Columbia
6 utilities and 45 retail electricity providers reported sales in District of Columbia for 2025 (EIA Form 861).
Utilities
Customers in this state. Home price and bill are for bundled service (generation and delivery)
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Utility | Customers | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Potomac Electric Power CoInvestor Owned | 352,372 | 20.77¢/kWh | $123/mo |
| 2 | Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter | 501 | 13.87¢/kWh | $42/mo |
| 3 | Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter | 57 | Not reported | $66/mo |
| 4 | Ahana Renewables, LLCBehind the Meter | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 5 | Constellation Solar Holding, LLCBehind the Meter | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 6 | SunnovaBehind the Meter | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Retail electricity providers
Companies that sell electricity supply while the local utility delivers it
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
Small utilities that file the short form (EIA-861S) report only total sales, so their home price and bill are not reported.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the biggest electric company in District of Columbia?
- Potomac Electric Power Co had the most customers in District of Columbia in 2025, about 352,372.
- How do I find which utility serves my address in District of Columbia?
- Open your county page from the District of Columbia energy overview. It lists the utilities that report serving each county. Your power bill also names your utility.
Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Form EIA-861 (2025) · Data for 2025