Checked
District of Columbia Electricity Rates
Average price of electricity in District of Columbia, July 2026, from the U.S. Energy Information Administration. Recent months are preliminary.
- Residential
- 25.21¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Commercial
- 23.88¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Industrial
- 32.15¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Average home bill
- $140/mo
- 2025, 639 kWh a month
District of Columbia electricity prices, 5 years
Average cents per kilowatt-hour by month
Show as a table
| Period | Residential |
|---|---|
| Jul 2026 | 25.21¢ |
| Dec 2025 | 23.90¢ |
| Dec 2024 | 18.79¢ |
| Dec 2023 | 17.82¢ |
| Dec 2022 | 15.05¢ |
| Dec 2021 | 13.34¢ |
Residential price by month
Cents per kWh, homes, and change from the same month a year earlier
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Month | Price | 1 year change | Customers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 2026 | 25.21¢/kWh | +9.4% | 326,896 |
| Jun 2026 | 24.39¢/kWh | +7.4% | 326,739 |
| May 2026 | 25.40¢/kWh | +24.3% | 326,670 |
| Apr 2026 | 25.41¢/kWh | +19.2% | 326,974 |
| Mar 2026 | 25.00¢/kWh | +22.5% | 326,704 |
| Feb 2026 | 23.97¢/kWh | +21.6% | 326,608 |
| Jan 2026 | 23.72¢/kWh | +26.0% | 326,288 |
| Dec 2025 | 23.90¢/kWh | +27.2% | 326,082 |
| Nov 2025 | 22.72¢/kWh | +20.0% | 325,508 |
| Oct 2025 | 23.92¢/kWh | +28.7% | 325,337 |
| Sep 2025 | 23.67¢/kWh | +31.3% | 325,077 |
| Aug 2025 | 23.19¢/kWh | +33.3% | 325,154 |
| Jul 2025 | 23.04¢/kWh | +35.0% | 325,300 |
| Jun 2025 | 22.70¢/kWh | +32.3% | 324,897 |
| May 2025 | 20.43¢/kWh | +14.5% | 324,739 |
| Apr 2025 | 21.32¢/kWh | +18.9% | 325,128 |
| Mar 2025 | 20.40¢/kWh | +15.2% | 324,371 |
| Feb 2025 | 19.71¢/kWh | +14.9% | 323,022 |
| Jan 2025 | 18.83¢/kWh | +11.6% | 321,632 |
| Dec 2024 | 18.79¢/kWh | +5.4% | 321,677 |
| Nov 2024 | 18.93¢/kWh | +11.4% | 320,359 |
| Oct 2024 | 18.59¢/kWh | +3.1% | 320,759 |
| Sep 2024 | 18.03¢/kWh | +10.7% | 320,427 |
| Aug 2024 | 17.40¢/kWh | +5.6% | 319,131 |
Electric utilities in District of Columbia
Largest by customers, 2025. Price and bill are for homes served with bundled generation and delivery
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Potomac Electric Power CoInvestor Owned | 352,372 | 20.77¢/kWh | $123/mo |
| Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter | 501 | 13.87¢/kWh | $42/mo |
| Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter | 57 | Not reported | $66/mo |
| Ahana Renewables, LLCBehind the Meter | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Constellation Solar Holding, LLCBehind the Meter | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
Price is revenue divided by kilowatt-hours sold. Where customers can choose a retail electricity supplier, the utility that delivers power may report only delivery charges, so its price can look lower than what customers pay in total.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the average electricity rate in District of Columbia?
- Homes in District of Columbia paid an average of 25.21¢/kWh per kilowatt-hour in July 2026, compared with 23.04¢/kWh a year earlier. The U.S. average was 18.31¢/kWh.
- Is electricity expensive in District of Columbia?
- District of Columbia had the 9th highest average residential price of 51 states and DC in July 2026.
- What is the average electric bill in District of Columbia?
- The average District of Columbia home used 639 kWh a month and paid $140.05 a month in 2025, according to EIA.
- What is the largest electric utility in District of Columbia?
- Potomac Electric Power Co serves the most customers in District of Columbia, about 352,372 in 2025.
Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Form EIA-861M and Form EIA-861 · Data for July 2026