Skip to content

Checked

Electric Utilities in Montana

36 utilities and 1 retail electricity providers reported sales in Montana for 2025 (EIA Form 861).

Utilities

Customers in this state. Home price and bill are for bundled service (generation and delivery)

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

#UtilityCustomersHome priceHome bill
1NorthWestern Energy LLC - (MT)Investor Owned438,85114.42¢/kWh$102/mo
2Flathead Electric Coop IncCooperative77,28810.04¢/kWh$119/mo
3Montana-Dakota Utilities CoInvestor Owned25,49812.33¢/kWh$95/mo
4Yellowstone Valley Elec Co-opCooperative23,68314.22¢/kWh$127/mo
5USBIA-Mission Valley PowerFederal23,2509.39¢/kWh$120/mo
6Missoula Electric Coop, IncCooperative16,71110.93¢/kWh$117/mo
7Ravalli County Elec Coop, IncCooperative12,194Not reportedNot reported
8Vigilante Electric Coop, IncCooperative11,420Not reportedNot reported
9Glacier Electric Coop, IncCooperative7,964Not reportedNot reported
10Fergus Electric Coop, IncCooperative7,15715.91¢/kWh$143/mo
11Lincoln Electric Coop, IncCooperative6,909Not reportedNot reported
12Park Electric Coop IncCooperative6,891Not reportedNot reported
13Beartooth Electric Coop, IncCooperative6,538Not reportedNot reported
14Sun River Electric Coop, IncCooperative6,300Not reportedNot reported
15McCone Electric Coop IncCooperative5,481Not reportedNot reported
16Lower Yellowstone R E A, IncCooperative5,2539.20¢/kWh$107/mo
17Tongue River Electric Coop IncCooperative5,229Not reportedNot reported
18Northern Lights, IncCooperative5,05713.06¢/kWh$118/mo
19Hill County Electric Coop, IncCooperative3,985Not reportedNot reported
20Marias River Electric Coop IncCooperative3,819Not reportedNot reported
21Sheridan Electric Coop, IncCooperative3,765Not reportedNot reported
22Big Horn County Elec Coop, IncCooperative3,709Not reportedNot reported
23Southeast Electric Coop, IncCooperative2,196Not reportedNot reported
24Fall River Rural Elec Coop IncCooperative2,10311.11¢/kWh$122/mo
25Big Flat Electric Coop IncCooperative2,062Not reportedNot reported
26Mid-Yellowstone Elec Coop, IncCooperative2,053Not reportedNot reported
27NorVal Electric Cooperative, IncCooperative1,930Not reportedNot reported
28City of Troy - (MT)Municipal1,073Not reportedNot reported
29Goldenwest Electric Coop, IncCooperative853Not reportedNot reported
30Powder River Energy CorpCooperative173Not reported$112/mo
31McKenzie Electric Coop IncCooperative117Not reportedNot reported
32Big Horn Rural Electric CoCooperative72Not reportedNot reported
33Black Hills Power, Inc.Investor Owned47Not reportedNot reported
34Avista CorpInvestor Owned32Not reportedNot reported
35Grand Electric Coop, IncCooperative16Not reportedNot reported
36WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal16Not reportedNot reported

Retail electricity providers

Companies that sell electricity supply while the local utility delivers it

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

ProviderCustomersHome priceHome bill
Talen Energy Marketing, LLCRetail Power Marketer6Not reportedNot reported

Small utilities that file the short form (EIA-861S) report only total sales, so their home price and bill are not reported.

Frequently asked questions

What is the biggest electric company in Montana?
NorthWestern Energy LLC - (MT) had the most customers in Montana in 2025, about 438,851.
How do I find which utility serves my address in Montana?
Open your county page from the Montana energy overview. It lists the utilities that report serving each county. Your power bill also names your utility.

Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Form EIA-861 (2025) · Data for 2025