Idaho Energy
Gas prices, electricity rates, utilities, power plants, heating costs and EV charging in Idaho, from EIA, EPA and the Department of Energy.
- Regular gas, region
- $4.47/gal
- Week of 10/19/2026
- Home electricity
- 13.73¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Average electric bill
- $110/mo
- 2025
- EV charging stations
- 263
- 755 ports
Prices
- Gas prices$4.47/gal (Rocky Mountain, PADD 4)
- Electricity rates13.73¢/kWh
- Propane$2.59/gal week of 10/19/2026
- Natural gas$13.29/Mcf July 2026
Power plants
6.8 GW of operating capacity
- Hydroelectric2.7 GW 39.8%
- Natural gas1.3 GW 18.8%
- Wind1.1 GW 16.7%
- Solar827 MW 12.2%
- Battery storage659 MW 9.7%
- Biomass149 MW 2.2%
- Geothermal16.0 MW 0.2%
- Other15.9 MW 0.2%
- Petroleum5.0 MW 0.1%
Generated 17.8 TWh in 2023 with 67.7% from carbon-free sources. CO2 rate 313 lb/MWh. Solar, wind and batteries
Largest electric utilities
By customers, 2025
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers | Home price |
|---|---|---|
| Idaho Power CoInvestor Owned | 636,949 | 11.78¢/kWh |
| Avista CorpInvestor Owned | 149,098 | 11.84¢/kWh |
| PacifiCorpInvestor Owned | 92,536 | 13.53¢/kWh |
| City of Idaho Falls - (ID)Municipal | 34,150 | 9.60¢/kWh |
| Kootenai Electric CooperativeCooperative | 33,826 | 13.44¢/kWh |
| Northern Lights, IncCooperative | 19,250 | 12.17¢/kWh |
| Fall River Rural Elec Coop IncCooperative | 18,798 | 11.11¢/kWh |
| Clearwater Power CompanyCooperative | 10,730 | Not reported |
| United Electric Co-op, Inc - (ID)Cooperative | 7,692 | 8.50¢/kWh |
| City of Burley - (ID)Municipal | 5,337 | Not reported |
EV charging by city
29 alternative fuel stations too
Energy by county
Utilities, power plants and charging stations in each county
- Ada County
- Adams County
- Bannock County
- Bear Lake County
- Benewah County
- Bingham County
- Blaine County
- Boise County
- Bonner County
- Bonneville County
- Boundary County
- Butte County
- Camas County
- Canyon County
- Caribou County
- Cassia County
- Clark County
- Clearwater County
- Custer County
- Elmore County
- Franklin County
- Fremont County
- Gem County
- Gooding County
- Idaho County
- Jefferson County
- Jerome County
- Kootenai County
- Latah County
- Lemhi County
- Lewis County
- Lincoln County
- Madison County
- Minidoka County
- Nez Perce County
- Oneida County
- Owyhee County
- Payette County
- Power County
- Shoshone County
- Teton County
- Twin Falls County
- Valley County
- Washington County
Frequently asked questions
- How much does electricity cost in Idaho?
- Homes in Idaho paid an average of 13.73¢/kWh per kilowatt-hour in July 2026, compared with the U.S. average of 18.31¢/kWh.
- What is the price of gas in Idaho?
- EIA does not publish a weekly Idaho average. The Rocky Mountain (PADD 4) average was $4.47/gal the week of 10/19/2026.
- Where does Idaho's electricity come from?
- In 2023, 67.7% of the electricity generated in Idaho came from carbon-free sources (nuclear and renewables), and 67.7% from renewables alone.